June 2020 –

Growing from seed is fun – but there was a bit of a kerferful this spring. Not to worry there are plenty of seed to go around!  Part of the problem was that MANY see companies are tiny – with 2-15 people working in a space, and it was hard to be safe and work amid the shut-down. Personally I like trying to keep these small companies in business.  Renee at Renee’s Garden Seed had this to share on the topic.
 

Gardening With Soule Seed Company Suggestions

Like print?  The first list is of companies that publish and mail print catalogs.  Most of them also have online ordering available.

Want to save trees? The second list is of online seed companies that do not mail a catalog.

List is NOT Comprehensive!

Notes – some of these have notes after their name.  These are the ones that I know and have dealt with over time.  If I have had a bad experience with them, they did not make this list.

Many seed companies are regional, specializing in seeds for a certain region, for example the wonderful and very charming Fedco Seeds based in Maine specializes in varieties for New England.  I have not listed them here.

Seed Catalogs

Adaptive Seeds (Pacific NW – ok for winter growing) http://www.adaptiveseeds.com

Baker Creek Heirloom Seed (GET the catalog! CA) http://www.rareseeds.com

Botanical Interests (vegetables & herbs, in CO) http://www.botanicalinterests.com

Burpee http://www.burpee.com

Gurneys Seed and Nursery Company  http://www.gurneys.com

Harris Seeds http://www.harrisseeds.com

High Mowing Seeds (based in VT but some good ones) http://www.highmowingseeds.com

John Scheepers Kitchen Garden Seeds http://www.kitchengardenseeds.com

Johnny’s Selected Seeds (some good ones) http://www.johnnyseeds.com

J.W. Jung Seed http://www.jungseed.com

Kitazawa Seed Company (Asian vegetables & herbs, in CA) http://www.kitazawaseed.com

Native Seeds/SEARCH (heirloom vegetables & herbs, in AZ) http://www.nativeseeds.org

Nichols Garden Nursery http://www.nicholsgardennursery.com

Park Seed http://www.parkseed.com

Peaceful Valley Farm and Garden Supply (useful, Grass Valley, CA)  http://www.groworganic.com

Renee’s Garden (vegetables, herbs & cooking tips!)  http://www.reneesgarden.com

R.H. Shumway http://www.rhshumway.com

Seeds of Change http://www.seedsofchange.com

Seed Savers Exchange http://www.seedsavers.org

Seeds from Italy (Mediterranean climate – we have some of that) http://www.growitalian.com

Select Seeds/Antique Flowers http://www.selectseeds.com

Southern Exposure Seed Exchange (many heat tolerant varieties) http://www.southernexposure.com

Stokes Seeds http://www.stokesseeds.com

Territorial Seed Company http://www.territorialseed.com

Urban Farmer http://www.ufseeds.com

Vermont Bean Seed Company http://www.vermontbean.com

Victory Seeds (vegetables, herbs, flowers)  http://www.victoryseeds.com

Online Seed Companies

American Meadows (some good regionals) http://www.americanmeadows.com

Eden Brothers  http://www.edenbrothers.com

Harvesting History http://www.harvesting-history.com

High Country Gardens (AWESOME! New Mexico)  http://www.highcountrygardens.com

Mary’s Heirloom Seeds (CA) http://www.marysheirloomseeds.com

Sustainable Seed Company  http://www.sustainableseedco.com

Terroir Seeds (in AZ since 1993! heirlooms, flowers, herbs) http://www.underwoodgardens.com

All-America Selection Winners

All-America Selections (AAS) is an independent, non-profit organization that began in 1932 to conduct confidential and impartial trials of new, never-before-sold flower and vegetable varieties throughout North America. Entries are trialed in many different geographic locations throughout the U.S. and Canada, grown side-by-side with currently available comparison varieties to evaluate garden performance, earliness, flower, or fruit size or any other characteristic important to the home gardener.

 

The 80+ trial judges are horticulture professionals at universities, public gardens, extension offices, seed companies, breeding companies, retailers, and commercial growers. Only the best trial performers that show superiority to their comparisons are declared AAS Winners.

When you purchase an AAS Winner, you can be assured you have a variety that has been put through its paces and has outperformed other similar varieties on the market.